MedHum Monday Book Review: Sexology in Translation

24886078In English-language humanities research, the study of human sexuality is often understood implicitly or explicitly as a Western invention, emerging in the late 19th century and spreading outward from Europe and North America. The new anthology Sexology in Translation: Cultural and Scientific Encounters Across the Modern World (Temple University Press, 2015), edited by Heike Bauer, aims to be a “corrective to the pervasive idea that sexuality is a ‘Western’ construct that was transmitted around the world” (2). Toward this goal, Bauer has collected an impressive range of essays on sexual science and sexual cultures across Asia, the Middle East, and Europe as they developed between the closing decades of the nineteenth century and World War II.

Continue reading “MedHum Monday Book Review: Sexology in Translation”

Advertisements

MedHum Monday Book Review: Boston Floating Hospital

bostonfloating_coverThe Boston Floating Hospital no longer floats. Now part of the Tufts Medical Center, the Floating Hospital for Children is solidly rooted on Washington Street in downtown Boston. Founded in the late nineteenth century, it started life as a boat. In The Boston Floating Hospital: How a Boston Harbor Barge Changed the Course of Pediatric Medicine (2014), Lucy Prinz and Jacoba van Schaik tell its story with extensive references and illustrations with chapters on its contributions to pediatrics including its development of infant formula and early emphasis on family-centered care.

Continue reading “MedHum Monday Book Review: Boston Floating Hospital”

Upcoming Event: Jan 20th Book Signing, Death’s Summer Coat

Death's Summer Coat_CVRBOOK SIGNING: JANUARY 20, 6PM, Dittrick Museum

Join us at the Dittrick Museum for a book signing and reading (by Brandy Schillace), on the US release of Death’s Summer Coat, what the history of death and dying can tell us about life and living. In the tradition of Being Mortal, DSC looks at what we can learn from the diverse ways in which people deal with mortality across time and place. Some of the stories are strikingly unfamiliar, whether it is “death cafes” in India or the mourning practices in Cambodia. Others, like Victoria “momento-mori” photography, are more familiar than you might suppose—but all reveal something about the present, and about ourselves. Books are available for sale, and light refreshments will be provided in the Powell and Lowman rooms, Allen Memorial Medical Library.

(Also, I get to read from it!) Hope to see you there–flyer in full.